I dreamed I stood up in class. . .

I dreamed
I stood up in class
And I said aloud:

Teacher,
Why is algebra important?

Sit down, he said.

Then I dreamed
I stood up
And I said:

Teacher, I’m weary of the turkeys
That we have to draw every fall.
May I draw a fox instead?

Sit down, he said.

 
Then I dreamed
I stood up once more and said:

Teacher,
My heart is falling asleep
And it wants to wake up.
It needs to be outside.

Sit down, he said.” 

~Mary Oliver, Swan

red boots white swing-1

http://www.zhibit.org/davidleeblack/red-boot-project-2

Leave a Reply

